Fidel Castro passed away leaving the world in mourning or relief?

(This was written on Nov 26, 2016)

5a18fc02-a3a0-47d1-aaa6-a7a7a2cddf66

Today was just a typical Saturday. I got up late, helped around my parents’ house and then went shopping. Everything was going on just fine. Then as soon as I finally had some time to get back to my bed, I went on Facebook to see what was going on in the world.

As I was stalking my crush’s timeline, I saw one of his status which was posted 2 minutes previously, mentioning Fidel Castro. His words for Fidel seemed to be not really serious.

He said something about Fidel Castro and the mannequin challenge in the sky. (I was about to quote his status but he deleted it)

At that time, I didn’t know much about Fidel Castro though I live in a communist country, that had been receiving lots of help from Cuba in the past. (I know, I am that kind of ignorant person. But hey, at least I’m trying to not be one)

Now Fidel Castro is all over the media. The more I get to know about him, the more I understand why the news is talking so much about him, or why my crush had to delete his status.

“That is because Fidel Castro had a great influence over the communist countries as well as some other parts of the world. His will was not only revolving around the communist party but also around the true values of humanity. Castro dedicated his whole life, fought every inch of his fiber for the people. A truly great man, he deserves our utmost respect.”

I wrote this before I found out about the criticism of Castro being a dictator.

Again! I was NOT critical AT ALL.

Let’s break this down a little. From my country’s perspective, Fidel Castro is beyond goodness. He helped Cuba have its days with unbelievable policies on health care, taxes and such. Cubans view him as a hero of the country. And he was also a hero of the communist community. But to Trump, to Americans and a part of Cuba’s population, he was nothing more than a dictator when he built up the repressive system of killing thousands of people including Cubans.

So the fact that his death has been all over the news is probably due to him being a controversial historic figure. And why my crush’s facebook status disappeared? I guess he deleted it because he touched on a sensitive issue. But I quite doubt this since he is American and most of Americans think Castro is a dictator. I mean, I’m not sure.

At the end of the day, Fidel Castro is just a human being. He has his lightbulb moments and also his not-so-wise ones. Perhaps, he is not that bad as many people think he is. Sometimes it’s just hard to please everyone. He was willing to sacrifice some in order to reach the big goal. I truly think that is what he did.

Since he passed away at the age of 90, many people are very confused about how they should react. I am too. This is completely normal (right?). I’m just being critical.

So what’s my lesson from this event?
Read more, many more about historic figures!

P/S: November, specifically since the Black Friday, has been full of dramas and horrible news. What the hell is going on???

Leave a Reply

